European Commission: Seeking Applications for Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2018

Applications for 2018 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for outstanding journalism in development are now open. Through this prize the European Commission recognises the dedication of journalists whose work helps to create a better world.

The Natali prize will acknowledge outstanding reporting on development issues which will reward outstanding reporting on issues such as poverty eradication, and the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development.


Development: Entries must address issues on development in the developing world.
Eliminate violence against women and girls: For 2018 the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize shall award a special prize for submissions related to the elimination of violence against women and girls.
Prize Information

There will be up to 11 winners. Categories can be left deserted if quality is not met. The 11 winners are distributed as follows:

Two winners (junior and senior) will be awarded per region (1.Africa 2.Arab World and the Middle East 3.Asia and the Pacific 4.Latin America and the Caribbean 5.Europe).
They will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000. A Grand Prize will be awarded in addition to one of the winners.
The Grand Prize winner will receive additional trophy and EUR 5 000. A Special Thematic Prize will award the best entry focusing on the elimination of violence against women and girls. The winner will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000.
The winners are expected to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 5/6 June 2018. The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded).
Eligibility Criteria

The contest will be open to all journalists whose HQ media is based from one of these regions:
Arab World and the Middle East
Asia and the Pacific
Latin America and the Caribbean
Two categories of applicants will be identified:
Junior journalists (between 21 and 26 years old on 9 March 2018)
Senior journalists (above 27 years old on 9 March 2018).
The applicants will automatically fall under one of these categories when filling in the application form.
The entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) in one of the five above-mentioned regions.
The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.
Laureates cannot compete again for the Prize the year following their award, but are eligible for subsequent editions.
Journalistic works submitted by current members of staff of the European Union institutions, people involved in the pre-selection process, the jury or MC-Phrenos will not be considered. These people can enter the contest three years after leaving their position.

Type of Call: 
Deadline for Applications: 
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 00:00
Call Image: